Library Services

Services

The Library is available to support students, faculty, and staff online and in the library. Connect with us for help with:

  • Getting started with your research
  • Finding and accessing resources
  • APA Style & academic integrity

Ask Us

Use our chat service, AskUs, to chat live with a library staff member.

Or, send an email to ask@bowvalleycollege.libanswers.com We will answer within one business day.

Or, come in and visit us at one of our service desks in the library.

FAQs & Question Form

Find answers to your resource, research, and APA Style questions by searching our collection of Frequently Asked Questions.  

If you can't find the question you're looking for in the list, fill out the question form on the right side of the page. We'll get back to you as soon as we can!

Resources

Off-campus access

The Library's electronic resources can be accessed from off-campus. You will be asked to sign in when you open an electronic resource. Your library ID (username) is your Bow Valley College email address. Your password is the same as your email password. 

If you experience trouble signing in to your library account, please email helpdesk@bowvalleycollege.ca   

Electronic resources

Journals, e-books, and databases can be found using the library search box. To find an eBook, type in your course code, course name, or book title into the search box. For more information, visit our eBooks help guide.

To find the best library database for your research, visit our A-Z Databases page.  This list also includes streaming video databases which offer free access to online documentaries and films.

Books

Check out our book collection on the first floor of the library.

Workshops

The Library offers live online workshops throughout the semester, including:

  • Academic Honesty & Avoiding Plagiarism
  • Introduction to APA Style (7th ed.).

Visit our workshop page for dates, session links, and workshop materials.

Interlibrary Loans

To request an article the library does not have full-text access to, please fill out our request form. If the article is available from another library, it will be sent to you by email as a PDF. 

To request a book the library does not have, fill out our book request form.