Why search here?NRC+ is an comprehensive evidence-based tool that helps nursing students and professionals incorporate the most current and reliable research findings into their practice. What's included?It contains nursing care plans, evidence-based care sheets, video demonstrations, and patient education information. It also includes content from CINAHL and EBSCO e-book databases, including chapters and full-text books, professional journals, and peer-reviewed articles from academic journals.
Why search here?Created and maintained by a multidisciplinary editorial team, SWRC provides professional and scholarly content on key human services topics such as addiction, homelessness, aging and end-of-life care, clinical social work, child welfare, domestic violence, and diversity. It is configured to search across several social work-related databases in psychology, sociology, child development, and criminal justice. What's included?It provides access to over 800 authoritative topic summaries, quick lessons, and evidence-based care sheets from the Social Work Reference Guide as well as book chapters, academic journals (with peer-reviewed articles), reports, and dissertations from PsycINFO, SocINDEX, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, and Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA) is the largest freely-available corpus of English. The corpus contains more than 520 million words of text (20 million words each year 1990-2015) and it is equally divided among spoken, fiction, popular magazines, newspapers, and academic texts.
Why search here?
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume I is a classic collection of videos providing a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. This collection provides a through grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses.
This database has over 400 hours of training videos featuring prominent therapists like Jon Carlson, Sue Johnson, Allen Ivey, and Insoo Kim Berg, and including topics like addiction, career counseling, child therapy, and domestic violence.
Produced by Bow Valley College for the practical nursing program, these videos provide demonstrations of skills and procedures like dressing changes, oral and nasal suctioning, and venipuncture as well as nursing scenarios and case studies.
Why search here?
This collection is designed to help veterinary assistant and technician students gain a strong foundation in veterinary anatomy, physiology, and behavior while learning basic veterinary procedures and an understanding of the workplace.
It provides public performance rights for over 240 online streaming videos covering animal anatomy, physiology, behavior, nutrition, and disease, basic veterinary skills and procedures, and workplace topics such as client service and safety.
The Gale Primary Sources Collection combines 69 online databases acquired by post-secondary and public library members of The Alberta Library (TAL) on behalf of the province of Alberta. Databases in this collection include the Archives of Human Sexuality & Gender, American Fiction 1774-1920, Crime Punishment and Popular Culture 1790-1920, Financial Times Historical Archives 1888-2010, Indigenous Peoples of North America, and the Economist Historical Archive.
Why search here?
This collection includes content from across Canadian and American institutions and covers the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century.
It includes books and primary sources materials such as manuscripts, newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations, and dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages.
This newsletter has been helping educators develop and define the world of online education since its inception in 2001. Each issue looks at the challenges and opportunities presented by this dynamic, fast-growing teaching medium, covering topics such as online course design, synchronous/asynchronous interaction, threaded discussions, and assessment of student learning. NOTE: on-campus access is automatic; off-campus access require setting up an account. Click here for the link and instructions.
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the 20th edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone of reference in its field. This new edition includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster.
The Encyclopedia contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work. Clearly arranged in A-Z format, each article is fully cross-referenced and includes a select bibliography to guide interested readers to primary sources and the most important scholarly works on a given subject. The work also includes a comprehensive index and topical outline. Comprehensive in coverage and international in scope, the Encyclopedia is a valuable resource to social work practitioners, scholars, and students alike.
Learning Management System (i.e. Brightspace/D2L): Accepted
Why search here?PrepSTEP is an online learning platform with targeted learning centers containing interactive tutorials, practice tests, and e-books to help students build foundational skills for college success. What's included?It contains training and resources for building your math, science, and writing skills, preparing for tests and exams, and using computers (e.g. MS Word, Excel, and introductory basics). It also includes NCLEX-PN practice exams and the NCLEX-PN Power Practice e-book to help prepare for the Canadian Practical Nurse Registration Examination (CPNRE).
Why search here?This language learning software will help you improve your English or other language skills. What's included?30 languages are available, including Arabic, Mandarin, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Farsi, Russian, and Spanish. Its interactive approach with core lessons will help build your reading, writing, speaking, and listening skills. NOTE: Mobile apps are available to download for free from the iTunes and Google Play stores, but you must first login on the library website using this link. For desktop access, use either Internet Explorer 11 or the latest versions of Chrome, Edge, Safari, and Firefox.