Library Resource Policies & Permissions
Electronic resources available through the RGO Library & Learning Commons (LLC) are licensed for noncommercial use by Bow Valley College faculty, staff, students and onsite visitors for educational or research purposes only.
The terms and conditions set by license agreements include, but are not limited to, restrictions on copying, republishing, altering, redistributing and reselling the information contained within electronic resources. These restrictions vary depending on the specific resource and instructors are responsible for ensuring their use of library materials complies with license agreements and Canadian copyright laws.
The LLC's A-Z list of databases includes these icons indicating license terms and permissions:
|Learning Management System (LMS)|
Authorized users may have access to licensed materials through the institution's LMS (D2L) provided it requires authentication (login).
Electronic copies of materials (e.g. book chapters, journal articles) may be made and stored on a secure network for use by the institution's students in connection with specific courses of instruction.
Authorized users may incorporate parts in print or electronic format of licensed materials in course packs for the use of authorized users in the course of instruction, but not for commercial use. Each such item shall carry appropriate acknowledgement of the source (citation). Course packs in non-electronic, non-print form, such as Braille or audio, may also be offered to authorized users who have a print disability.
Available online with unrestricted access and unrestricted reuse, provided the purpose is noncommercial and proper attribution (citation) is included.
A permalink is a persistent uniform resource locator that consistently provides direct access to a particular web address for an online resource, database record, or search results page.
A permalink may also be referred to as a:
The online library catalogue, e-books, and most subscription databases autogenerate permalinks, which are distinct from the URL in the browser's web address bar.
Permalinks to electronic resources typically begin with "http://ezproxy.acbv.talonline.ca/login?url="; for example: http://ezproxy.acbv.talonline.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1089212&site=eds-live&scope=site
Users that click this type of permalink will need to login to access the resource.
These links can thus be shared openly on websites, in D2L course pages, and within emails, provided the resource will be used for instructional or research purposes only.
Films on Demand is a web-based digital platform with a wide range of streaming videos on educational topics in the social sciences, humanities, science, mathematics, health, and career counseling.
Films are indexed in segments so that you can put together a series of excerpts from several films. Learn how to link or embed videos in D2L course pages below:
STEP 1: After locating a film, click the Embed link at the bottom of the screen. Copy the code autogenerated below:
STEP 2: Open the course page and click Create a File:
STEP 3: click on the Insert Stuff icon at the top of the HTML editor window:
STEP 4: Paste the code into the Enter Embed Code box:
Note: the video will not display until the file is saved and published.
As streaming videos are licensed, students will need to login to access the video in D2L.
You may wish to include a link to help students understand how to login from the LLC website here.
The majority of students require support in conducting research as concepts and formats such as peer review, scholarly journals, and databases are unfamiliar.
For this reason, the college librarian has created customizable D2L modules with optional learning activities designed to teach students the skills required to conduct academic research and use library resources.
These modules have the following learning outcomes:
Five modules are available that include the following lessons; these can be added individually or altogether to D2L course pages on request:
Module 1: Information Sources
Module 2: Introduction to Library Research
Module 3: Searching Library Resources
Module 4: Evaluating Information
Module 5: Legal and Ethical Information Use
To request the addition of these modules to course content in D2L, please contact the college's Librarian, Kelley Wadson, at firstname.lastname@example.org or the front circulation desk at email@example.com
What is Curriculum Builder?
Curriculum Builder is a D2L plug-in for searching the RGO Library & Learning Commons’ EBSCO discovery service catalogue, LibSearch, which acts as a “search engine” for the Library’s print and electronic resources.
Use Curriculum Builder to easily create and manage course reading lists using library databases, ebooks, and other library resources from within D2L course content
How to Access Curriculum Builder in D2L
From the course Content page, click Add Existing Activites and choose External Learning Tools to open LibSearch Catalogue: Curriculum Builder.
This will create a link on the course Content page that provides access to the tool:
Next, click the link to open the Curriculum Builder tool. Instructors can copy public lists. Select an existing list from the drop-down menu or click Continue to create a new list:
On the next page, enter a keyword in the search box:
To change the title of the list, click LibSearch Catalogue: Curriculum Builder at the top and choose a more appropriate name.
How to Search & Build Reading Lists with Curriculum Builder
As with the LibSearch Catalogue on the main page of the library website, the Curriculum Builder tool provides many options for searching the Library’s resources.
The left-hand side of the results page has multiple options to filter by Source Type, Subject, Publication, or Database. You can also use the drop-down menu to search within the Title of a source or by Author name:
Click the Add to Reading List button to save individual items to the reading list.
To review saved items and annotate items with comments or instructions, click See Current Reading List above the search box: