Search Techniques & TutorialsSearch Methods & StrategiesKeeping up with ResearchFinding & Using Grey LiteratureLLC Home Page & CatalogueLibrary Database Collection
The Research & Writing ProcessCooper's TaxonomyHow-to Guides & ResourcesHelpful Articles & ExamplesCitation & Reference Management
This is the "Home" page of the "Literature Reviews" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

An in-depth guide for all stages of the literature review process, from forming a research question to using search strategies such as bibliographic mining and cited reference searching
Last Updated: May 7, 2014 URL: http://bowvalleycollege.libguides.com/literature-reviews Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New in Research Methods & Strategies!

Cover Art
Research Methods: the Key Concepts - Michael Hammond; Jerry Wellington
Call Number: H62 .H23386 2013
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
What Are Qualitative Research Ethics? - Rose Wiles
Call Number: 62 .W55 2012
Publication Date: 2012


Cover Art
Doing Excellent Small-Scale Research - Derek Layder
Call Number: H62 .L355 2013
Publication Date: 2013




Cover Art
Social Research Methods - W. Lawrence Neuman
Call Number: HM571 .N48 2011
Publication Date: 2011


Library Research Guide to Literature Reviews

Welcome to the LLC's library research guide to literature reviews. 

Follow the links below or choose from the tabs above to:

  • Learn about the nature, purpose and types of literature reviews
  • Understand the research and writing process
  • Learn how to use Boolean operators and other techniques to improve search results
  • Create an effective search strategy
  • Find helpful books, articles and online guides
  • View examples of literature reviews online and in the LLC database collection
  • What is a Literature Review?
    This page explains what a literature review is and its purpose within a larger research paper or as a project in itself, with an overview of four different types - traditional, systematic, meta-analysis and meta-synthesis
  • The Research and Writing Process
    This page provides a 5-step guide to the research and writing process for literature reviews with links to tools, services and the wide range of print and digital resources available through the LLC
  • Cooper's Taxonomy
    This page has a chart detailing H.M. Cooper's taxonomy of literature reviews with information on how it can be applied to assessing, researching and writing literature reviews
  • How-to Guides and Resources
    This page has links to online guides, handouts and web pages that discuss literature reviews and helpful print books and e-books available through the LLC
  • Helpful Articles and Examples
    This page has links to articles providing introductory and in-depth discussion and analysis of the nature, purpose and challenges of writing literature reviews with several examples from the LLC database collection
  • Citation and Reference Management
    This page has recommended books, websites and online tools for creating, storing, and managing references properly and efficiently
  • Search Techniques and Tutorials
    This page has guides, tutorials and examples for increasing the precision and effectiveness of catalogue, database, and online searches through the use of Boolean operators
  • Search Methods and Strategies
    An overview of four approaches to searching for sources -- bibliographic mining, pearl growing, cited reference searching and the building block strategy
  • Keeping up with Research
    Stay on top of the latest developments in your field or a selected subject area through customized RSS feeds and research alerts in our database and e-book collections
  • Finding and Using Grey Literature
    This library research guide explains the importance of using grey literature to avoid publication bias and contains a wide range of sources for multiple disciplines and subject areas, including health studies, science, education and business
  • Library Home Page and Catalogue
    Return to the main page of the LLC website that has a search box for access to all print and digital resources
  • Library Database Collection
    All students, faculty and staff at Bow Valley College have access to our database collection. Login here using your employee ID number preceded with "BVC" and the last four digits of your phone number as the password.

Related Library Research Guides

Faculty and Staff Guide to Library Services and Resources
by Kelley Wadson - Last Updated Jul 29, 2014
This guide provides an overview of services for students, request forms for library materials and presentations, and selected resources to support the instructional, research and professional development goals of faculty and staff at Bow Valley College
807 views this year
Grey Literature
by Kelley Wadson - Last Updated Oct 19, 2013
This guide explains the importance of using grey literature to avoid publication bias and contains a wide range of sources for multiple disciplines and subject areas, including health studies, science, education and business
168 views this year
Writing Help
by Kelley Wadson - Last Updated May 7, 2014
Use the books, websites, handouts and tips in this guide to help you improve your grammar, learn about essay writing, use APA style for citations, and more
973 views this year
Research Help
by Kelley Wadson - Last Updated Jul 31, 2014
This introduction to library research explains how to choose a topic, develop a research question and search for resources online, in the LLC and in the library database collection
259 views this year
Mobile Device Apps
by Kelley Wadson - Last Updated May 7, 2014
Find free applications for accessing library resources, improving your productivity, and studying for your coursework on your smartphone or other mobile device.
155 views this year

Bow Valley College Library

Profile Image
Library & Learning Commons
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
North Campus, 1st Floor
345 6th Avenue SE
Calgary, Alberta T2G 4V1
403-410-1647 or 403-410-1756
Send Email
 

Chat with Us!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip