Finding Indigenous Resources

Key Library Databases for Articles, Films, and More

Bibliography of Native North Americans

Why search here?
This database is a comprehensive resource for the study of indigenous peoples in Canada and the United States. It addresses historical and current topics including culture, governance, language, and archaeology.
What's included?
It contains book chapters, government documents, and peer-reviewed articles published in academic journals dating from the 16th century to the present.

Indigenous Peoples: North America

Why search here?
This collection includes content from across Canadian and American institutions and covers the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century.
What’s included?
It includes books and primary sources materials such as manuscripts, newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations, and dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages.

National Film Board (NFB) CAMPUS

Why search here?
CAMPUS is the NFB's platform for historical and educational Canadian media content across a wide range of subject areas, from Aboriginal and First Nations culture to contemporary social issues like gender equality, healthcare, and multiculturalism. NOTE: Instructors must set up a personal account to access special features (e.g. chaptering tool, playlist etc.).
What's included?
It contains over 2500 Canadian and international documentaries, films, and animations including contemporary titles like Status Quo: The Unfinished Business of Feminism in Canada, This Changes Everything, and Six Miles Deep and well-known Aboriginal, First Nations and Inuit directors like Alania Obomsawin and Dennis Allen. Additional features include educator guides for integrating content into teaching and tools for editing clips and building playlists. NOTE: a false security certificate error will appear in internet browsers: click through to approve the certificate and access this resource.

Curio (CBC)

Why search here?
This platform provides public performance rights and 24/7 remote access to commercial-free CBC programming including news series, documentaries, and historical features applicable to multiple subject areas like Aboriginal & First Nations, healthcare and medicine, early childhood education, and environmental studies.
What's included?
It holds news reports, television and radio programs, investigative documentaries, children's shows, and archival material. Notable programs include 8th Fire, Keeping Canada Alive, and The Nature of Things. Educator guides and lesson ideas are also included with selected programs.

Canadian Points of View

Why search here?
This database has up-to-date overviews of 185 topics in Canada, with point and counterpoint essays that help you understand it from multiple perspectives. It is an excellent resource for getting started on a research project or finding a topic for an assignment.
What's included?
Almost 800 balanced essays and background articles on key issues in Canadian society, such as climate change, medical marijuana, government policy, media bias, Aboriginal issues, and healthcare topics like assisted suicide, stem cell research, and mental health awareness.

Social Work Reference Center

Why search here?
Created and maintained by a multidisciplinary editorial team, SWRC provides professional and scholarly content on key human services topics such as addiction, homelessness, aging and end-of-life care, clinical social work, child welfare, domestic violence, and diversity. It is configured to search across several social work-related databases in psychology, sociology, child development, and criminal justice.
What's included?
It provides access to over 800 authoritative topic summaries, quick lessons, and evidence-based care sheets from the Social Work Reference Guide as well as book chapters, academic journals (with peer-reviewed articles), reports, and dissertations from PsycINFO, SocINDEX, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, and Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text.

World History in Context

Why search here?
World History in Context reaches back to the ancient world - and forward to today's headlines - to deliver a chronicle of how cultures and societies have evolved around the world.
What's included?
It holds more than 4000 primary source documents and maps, a topic-integrated image gallery, video and audio selections including archival newsreels, reference book entries organized by categories such as economics, biographies, and events, movements and cultural trends, and articles from publications like The Historian, Journal of World History, and Canadian Journal of History.